Alpendorf St. Johann - ihr Wanderparadies
Wanderparadies Salzburgerland
t. Johann im Pongau - Alpendorf

Summer in St. Johann - Alpendorf

The mild and sunny climate of the Salzach valley is made for enjoyable hiking in and around St. Johann im Pongau. Grass green peaks offer stunning views and cozy mountain huts await guests with hearty snacks and the typical Salzburg hospitality.

In no time at all, you will refuel and forget your daily stress. Simply sit back, take a deep breath, let your eyes wander across the dreamy mountain landscape and well-maintained trails, and see how quickly you are able to relax.

As the perfect complement to an eventful hike, try the savory Pongau specialties served in the huts.

Many destinations, such as the Liechtenstein Gorge, the Giant Ice World, the Grossglockner, the Hohenwerfen Castle, and various mines , can be visited in any weather.

liechtensteinklamm

Liechtenstein Gorge

For thousands of years already, the Großarl mountain stream has been eating into the rock and thundering into Salzach below with unstoppable force. Liechtenstein Gorge is one of the longest and deepest water gorges in the Alps. 1100 liters of water flow through the veil falls of the gorge every second

Phone: +43 6412 6036

Web: www.liechtensteinklamm.at

Giant Ice World

Another highlight, a short 40 minute drive into the town of Werfen, are the world's largest ice caves with an incredible total length of 42 kilometers - the Giant Ice World. Cold air masses flow into the cave in winter. Due to rising temperatures in the spring, the ice begins to melt, making the water seep into the cave, where it freezes. This and other complex processes create the enormous, stunning ice formations - the "Ice Giants."

Phone.: +43 6468 5248

Web: www.eisriesenwelt.at

eisriesenwelt

grossglockner-hochalpenstrasse

Grossglockner

Since the establishment of the Grossglockner High Alpine Road, what was once reserved for experienced climbers is now an experience for young and old and enjoys continued enthusiasm and fascination.

Phone: +43 662 873673 - 0

Web: www.grossglockner.at

Hohenwerfen Castle

Former archbishop's fortress from the 11th century. Medieval bustle with spectacular fight scenes, jugglers, and historical craft can be found alongside flying demonstrations by the historic falconry.

Phone: +43 6468 7603

Web: www.salzburg-burgen.at

burg_werfen

There is plenty to do for children as well in St.Johann - Alpendorf - such as the "Ghost Mountain" - an amusement park with ghost train and ghost village on the Gernkogel.

In addition, the world-famous City of Mozart, Salzburg, is not far away and always worth a visit.

Alpendorf St. Johann - ihr Wanderparadies
Wanderparadies Salzburgerland
t. Johann im Pongau - Alpendorf

Der Sommer in St.Johann - Alpendorf

Das milde und sonnenreiche Klima des Salzachtals ist wie geschaffen für genussvolles Wandern in und um St.Johann im Pongau. Herrliche Aussichten versprechen die grasgrünen Gipfelbereiche und urige Almhütten erwarten die Gäste mit deftigen Jausen und der typischen Salzburger Gastfreundschaft.

In kürzester Zeit tankt man neue Kräfte und vergisst den Alltags-Stress. Einfach zurücklehnen, tief durchatmen, den Blick über die traumhafte Berglandschaft und gut gepflegten Wanderwege streifen lassen und spüren, wie schnell man sich wohl fühlt.

Die perfekte Ergänzung zu den erlebnisreichen Wanderungen sind die herzhaften Pongauer Spezialitäten, die in den Hütten aufgetischt werden.

Zahlreiche Ausflugsziele wie die Liechtensteinklamm, die Eisriesenwelt, der Großglockner, die Burg Hohenwerfen und verschiedene Bergwerke können Sie bei jeder Witterung besuchen.

liechtensteinklamm

Liechtensteinklamm

Schon über Jahrtausende frisst sich der Großarler Gebirgsbach in den Stein und donnert unaufhaltsam in die tiefergelegene Salzach. Die Liechtensteinklamm ist eine der längsten und tiefsten Wasserschluchten der Alpen. 1100 Liter Wasser pro Sekunde fließen über den Schleierfall der Klamm.

Tel: 0043 6412 6036

Web: www.liechtensteinklamm.at

Eisriesenwelt

Ein weiteres Highlight, das nach nur 40 Minuten Fahrt in den Ort Werfen erreicht werden kann, ist die mit einer unglaublichen Gesamtlänge von 42 Kilometern größte Eishöhle der Welt – die Eisriesenwelt. Kalte Luftmassen werden im Winter ins Innere der Höhle transportiert. Durch die steigenden Temperaturen im Frühling fängt das Eis an zu schmelzen, wodurch Wasser in die Höhle sickert und gefriert. Durch diesen und anderer komplexer Vorgänge entstehen schließlich die enormen, atemberaubenden Eisgebilde – die “Eisrießen“.

Tel.: 0043 6468 5248

Web: www.eisriesenwelt.at

eisriesenwelt

grossglockner-hochalpenstrasse

Grossglockner

Was einst nur geübten Bergsteigern vorbehalten war, ist seit der Errichtung der Großglockner Hochalpenstraße ein Erlebnis für Groß und Klein, das sich ungebrochener Begeisterung und Faszination erfreut.

Tel: 0043 662 873673 - 0

Web: www.grossglockner.at

Erlebnisburg Hohenwerfen

Ehemalige erzbischöfliche Wehrburg aus dem 11. Jh. Mittelalterliches Treiben mit spektakulären Fechtszenen, Gauklern und historischem Handwerk wird ebenso geboten wie Flugvorführungen vom historischen Landesfalkenhof.

Tel: 0043 6468 7603

Web: www.salzburg-burgen.at

burg_werfen

Aber auch für Kinder hat St.Johann - Alpendorf einiges zu bieten - wie zB den "Geisterberg" - den Erlebnispark mit Geisterzug und Geisterdorf am Gernkogel!

Außerdem ist die weltbekannte Mozartstadt Salzburg nicht weit entfernt und immer einen Ausflug wert.